Initial Setup: "Allow permissions" prompts every time I run Faster Suite

Modified on Tue, 16 May 2023 at 03:06 PM

Background: What is UAC?

User Account Control is a Windows setting that allows a user to select how much protection you want on your PC from potentially harmful changes.


How does UAC affect Faster Suite?

If UAC is enabled on your computer, Faster Drive may not be able to attach the A:\ to the elevated user session in Windows.  This means that you will have normal access to A:\, but any applications that run as administrator will not have access.

What can I do?

To help give users more control over how Faster Suite behaves around UAC, we've added a setting that allows you to attach the A:\ to the elevated session even when UAC is enabled.  This setting is enabled by default.



Each user will have a choice of how to configure Faster Suite and their PC:
  1. Turn off UAC - You can turn off UAC to have Faster Suite automatically map the cloud drive to both your user and elevated sessions.
  2. Enable UAC and enable the setting in Faster Suite - Doing this will give you the same functionality as the first option while having UAC enabled.  However, because UAC is enabled on your computer, you will receive a UAC approval prompt (which may require entering administrator credentials) each time you log into Faster Suite.
  3. Enable UAC and disable the setting in Faster Suite - Doing this will remove the administrator prompt when logging into Faster Suite, but applications run as an administrator will not have access to the A:\.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article